My Love Affair with Old Pictures of Hillary Continues Unabated

Why am I so fascinated, and enchanted, by pictures of a younger Hillary Clinton? I think it’s because I see something in them that feels real to me; they yield up an impression of a person I know, not one who lives behind an Invisible Shield™® as the Hillary of today seems to. And the real person they yield up is a person I like. This is the Hillary who Hillary wants me to believe she is. I want to believe her. Why I love these pictures is that they turn something I want to believe into something I do believe.

hillary-1.jpg
hillary-two.jpg
hillary-four.jpg
hillary-three.jpg

hillary-six-cropped.jpg

Another factor, no doubt, is that I am roughly the same age as Hillary. (She has about two-and-a-half years on me.). So when I see pictures of her younger, I see my friends when they (and I) were younger. Knowing who we were then, I know who she was then. And since I believe that person is still inside each of us, I believe it’s still inside her.

Speaking of Invisible Shields™®, here’s the original:

2 Comments on “My Love Affair with Old Pictures of Hillary Continues Unabated”

  1. eksith says:

    All politicians have to develop some kind of invisible shield eventually.
    A lot of young people enter politics for ideological reasons, but they come to realize very early on that it’s difficult to maintain your popularity, or stamina for that matter, unless you have a tough skin and a willingness to do whatever it takes.

    In the end, that tough persona erodes a part of who you are, but it will get you where you want to be.

    And that’s the real sad part… They have to leave behind some portion of what made them come into politics in the first place. Your connection now to those pictures is that part she had to leave behind to become a real politician.

    I remember Bill Clinton describing his first encounter with her in an interview.
    I think she said something like :
    “You know if you’re going to stay there staring like that, we might as well know each other. I’m Hillary.”

    Priceless!

  2. tnaron says:

    Great comment. Thanks, eksith.


Leave a Reply

