Rendezvous with Destiny.

In no previous presidential election do I recall the news media telling me so early, on a daily basis, how many days are left until election day. No story seems able to omit it. I have a theory to explain this, and the key word is anxiety. No matter whom you’re for this year, there’s reason to doubt that he (and/or his running mate) is up to the job.

As a nation, we are lost in the deepest part of the forest. We can be hopeful that our guy is going to be the one who can lead us out. But I’m not totally feeling it. Part of this may be dread that we’re in so deep, no one can. But part of it is the particular choice we have here. One’s old and lacking conviction (or simply rudderless in his decision-making), and the other’s inexperienced and riding a jet-stream that consists primarily of hope. I know whom I prefer – Obama. And it’s a strong preference. I just wish I had more confidence that everything’s going to get better instead of worse under him. I should probably repeat some kind of positive affirmation to myself to make the dread go away.

One glass-half-full way to look at it is that whoever is our president next, he won’t be George Bush. Other than that, all that’s certain is that as of the night of November 4, John McCain or Barack Obama is going to be president-elect. I picture myself late on election night hearing that the winner is Obama, and I’m celebrating. I’m screaming with joy. I’m ecstatic, no question about it. But I’m also going, “Sure hope we didn’t just make a big mistake.”

With this much in the balance, it’s no wonder we’re obsessed with how many days are left. I find myself wanting to buy more time, but the calendar is inexorable. Care to see a constantly-ticking clock telling how much time remains down to the second? Click here.

2 Comments on “Rendezvous with Destiny.”

  1. rovronr says:

    Let me put it to you this way:
    The pool of financial, military, and foreign affairs advisors available to McCain (basically ex-Bushies)
    vs.
    The pool of financial, military, and foreigh affairs advisors available to Obama (basically ex-Clintonites)
    Eight years down the road from the latter, do you feel the former have made you feel better? Or worse?

  2. tnaron says:

    Obama Better.


Leave a Reply

