Stop Calling Me, Al Franken.

I’m for Al Franken for U.S. Senate. I gave him money two or three months ago to help him win his race in Minnesota. As a result, of course, I get phone calls from his campaign, asking for more money. I actually plan to give him another infusion of cash in early October – but not because of the phone calls. Believe it or not, Al Franken for Senate Telemarketers, I know Al Franken is running for the Senate, and I know he can use money!

In early September, I answered the phone call from the Al Franken for Senate Campaign, and politely told the young man on the other end of the line that I did not need to receive any more phone calls. He said, “Well, what if we agree to call you only once a month?” I said, in the spirit of cooperation and consensus-building that is my trademark, “OK, I can live with that.”

Of course, they have not lived up to their end of the bargain. I’ve received a call from them about every three days since that conversation. I have not answered the phone when this happens.

But the next time, I will. And here’s what I’m going to say:

“If you call me one more time, I’m giving money to Norm Coleman.”

And I mean it. I will.

The aggressiveness of your phone marketing campaign is counterproductive, Al Franken.

Fair warning.

____________

P.S. (added 10/9): I’m happy to say that after posting this, I received no more phone calls from the Franken campaign! Coincidence, or do they read my blog? Impossible to say. In any event, in return, I kept my end of the bargain and made a second donation to the campaign on October 2.

3 Comments on “Stop Calling Me, Al Franken.”

  1. Chuck says:

    Can you tell them to stop calling me? I never gave money to Al, but I get an automated phone call at least every other day, if not every day. He is close to making me change my number and calling a lawyer. I will at least now vote for anyone but him.

  2. A.S. says:

    For the past week I have received over 15 calls from the Al Franken Campaign! I did some research and it is actually illegal to make “robo-calls” in the state of Minnesota. I have received 2 of them, and I answered the phone 4 times and have asked them to please stop calling me each time, and they still continue to call me atleast 2-5 times a day. I know that election day is tomorrow but I still feel I need to do something about this. They called me at 9pm on sunday night! I mean come on! I am seriously considering voting for someone else just for the fact of these phone calls…

  3. AK in AK says:

    I’m getting called every day and often more than once a day, sometimes rather early in the morning and late at night. I am sick of it. I used to be a staunch supporter of Al Franken, and I still believe in his positions, but I will never again contribute to a campaign of his. Harassing one’s supporters is counterproductive.


Leave a Reply

